Day 32 – 318 Pounds

Cardio – 35 Minutes
Aqua  Class – 45 Minutes

I am in total shock, down another two pounds, wondering if all the bad choices I have made the past few days is triggering my metabolism, not sure but I like what is happening.

Morning cardio is difficult, the thought of working out with this pain is not appealing and I just don’t feel like doing it. I managed to climb on the ARC trainer but only for 35 minutes, I just did not have the motivation for it and without continuing to push I just threw in the towel and opted for something different.

Body measurements today, anxious to see the weekly results. I am down 28 pounds in just 32 days with a total loss of 4.50 inches off my waist alone.

Right Calf Right Thigh Glute Waist Chest Right Foremarm Right Bicep Weight
Start 17.50 24.50 57.50 60.00 57.50 14.00 17.00 346.00
Week # 4 17.00 24.00 54.50 55.50 54.75 13.00 16.00 318.00
Total Loss -0.50 -0.50 -3.00 -4.50 -2.75 -1.00 -1.00 -28.00

I am at the Spa pool yet again, I have been here all day other than going to grab some fruit for lunch. I am totally depressed, Sandy is gone and my family is in Hawaii and I  am feeling the loneliness  in every way.

It’s just after 3:30 PM and I am on the way back to the villa when I pass the indoor pool and look through the curtains to see Ivan just about to teach the 3:45 PM Aqua class. I figure that I had better jump in and try to get my heart rate up after such a mediocre day.

It turns out to be a great class, the amount of effort required to push hard is similar to an interval cardio set. Ivan is brisk in the pool, he is directive and to the point and if you don’t listen he won’t hesitate in pushing you harder. His favourite word in the pool is “push” but it comes out as “pooooooosssshhhh” and when he directs you to push, you had better “”pooooooosssshhhh”

At dinner this evening, I decide to sit at the community table and meet some new people in a best effort to change how I am feeling. I am sitting next to a couple from the UK,  Janet and Gavin. Both are returning guests to Pritikin for three weeks, Janet has been in prior years and was very successful with the program and continues through on her own while back home. We get to speaking about the journey ahead, they are both telling me about life after Pritikin and continue on about their travel plans while visiting the USA. They are purchasing a couple Harley Davidson bikes while here in Miami and will continue on afterwords on a riding tour for the balance of their trip. When ready to return to the UK they will store the bikes here for use on their next visit.

I got to thinking, a bike would be a great thing down here for my stay. I am online looking at bikes and have found one that looks like it would fit me well. The problem is I do not have a valid motorcycle license and will have to investigate the process in obtaining one.

Tonight is my decision day on flying to Hawaii or not, the flight I had planned on taking departs tomorrow morning. The decision I make is NEGATIVE, with great sadness. Not happy with my decision but have firmly decided that it is better for me to stay here and proceed with my journey uninterrupted.