Diet Day 14 – 332 Pounds

Cardio – 60 Minutes
Swimming – 25 Lengths
Cardio – 60 Minutes
Weights – 60 Minutes

I can’t believe it, yesterday I self destructed and today I managed to lose more weight!

Woke up after a long night of tossing and turning, all thanks to that gorilla burrito which contained a whopping 3780 mg of sodium.  That is 300% more than a full days worth in one meal.  I am determined not to have a repeat of yesterday and with that being said I am making the best of it and I am off to the gym.

I am pumped up and ready, breakfast as usual before starting out in the gym. No change in the menu, today it is hot oatmeal, blueberries, strawberries and watermelon. I take it all in with my icy cold water and self-healing ice pack courtesy of James and Doreth.

In the gym, vitals are recorded at 75 BPM and blood pressure of 120/90. I was thinking with yesterday’s hick up that I was going to be on a defibrillator this morning. Nope, all  is good and I am ready to get it on. I mount my ARC trainer and commence the A-1 class like a soldier, the session is great, I am pounding it out and burning up yesterday’s guilt. It looks like I am leaving my mark on the floor, the pool of perspiration is growing and the water retention from the all that sodium I ingested is making its way out of me.

With the first class of the day under my belt, I am ready for more. The first place that comes to mind is the lap pool for some morning swim lengths and further calorie burn off. I think after seeing the scale down a pound this morning after I was thinking it would be up, I have this motivation inside me to keep going and going hard. I swim 25 lengths and feel strong, the swim strokes just seemed to gel and I was able to glide through the water with ease.

I am finished swimming and drying off on the pool deck while relaxing in my lounge chair. All of the sudden I hear a lady with a deep english accent asking me if I mind if she takes the chair beside me. I look over my shoulder in absolute amazement and politely respond with approval. It is the pool after all and any chair that is not occupied is free to be used I would think. I will refer to this lady as “Miami Heat” on the go forward. You can’t imagine what follows over the next hour, she is asking to borrow my tanning oil, she is asking if I have any books she can read, she is asking if I could put the lotion on her back, of course I decline the application part and no I don’t have an extra book. She starts telling me these stories about her and the escapades she has been on at various resorts, I am laughing out of control especially with this one. She advises that swimming naked in the moonlight is a normal occurrence and she looks forward to this every night. The stories go on and on, lets just leave it with a quick snap shot for now.

IMG_1643

This afternoon’s lunch was controlled by my desire to cleanse myself from yesterday’s meals. Strictly saying I reserved myself to the salad bar exclusively and nourished myself to complete satiety and felt without question great about doing so. I must admit showing the community table the photos from the occurrence at the pool just prior were the hot topic of conversation.

Feeling very ready for some more exercise and without delay I am back in the gym for another round of cardio on the ARC trainer. I find this session to be rather easy, I have energy and am moving up a level on both resistance and incline. I stride my way through another 60 minute session with ease and am ready for Scott and some weight lifting.

Of course the first thing out my mouth is all about the pool this morning. It is just stuck in my head. The lady, the stories and the thought of what she does each night when the clock strikes 12 cracks us both up.

Todays weight session:

Cybex Benchpress – 4 sets of 15 at 150, 170, 190 &210 lbs
Cyber Tricep Pull – 4 sets of 15 at 40, 50, 60 & 60 lbs
Cyber Cable Curl – 4 sets of 15 at 60, 70, 90 & 110 lbs
Cyber Chest Fly – 4 sets of 15 at 40, 50, 60 & 70lbs
Cyber Tricep Curl – 4 sets of 15 at 70, 90, 110 & 130 lbs

Dips – 4 sets of 15
Push Ups – 4 sets of 10

It’s just after 3PM, I decide to go back to swimming pool and resume with some rest before dinner. I am feeling very pumped up, I can feel it in my veins, I have this turbo charge kind of feeling and am shinning in a way and my mind feels the inspiration, that is what counts. I am motivated!

I make my way back to the villa and to my surprise, Miami Heat is in the lobby waiting for me to pass. I detour through the side door and take the hallway around the outside in safety.

Tonight is the famed Bison night, which is a great meal and one of the favourites. Bison is the least fatty of the red meats, I admit that I was hesitant in trying it but found it to be very good after all. Combined with a sweet potato and some broccoli spears, it is a meal of champions. I had selected a table for two this evening as I was anxious to head out yet again to the Dolphin Mall for some new runners that Nike had just released. I ended up sitting with a travel writer, she was at Pritikin for a week preparing  a review on the program for a Spa Magazine. As you can imagine, I filled her with information on my experience to date and planned arrangement to stay on for an extended period of time while I achieved my goal. I am hopeful to one day read what she had to say about the program and resort and perhaps me.

Back in my villa for the night, I ended up buying a few pair of runners and look forward to putting them to work in the days ahead. As a precaution I had arranged with the doorman a signal to inform me if Miami Heat was still in the lobby. In fact, the doorman went to my room and opened the patio door so I could gain entry without crossing paths with the Miami Heat.

Realizing again that six months is going to be a long time and I am really missing my family. Closing in on two weeks, it feels like an eternity is left to go, how will I make it so long. A sad end to a great day, I am now going to Skype my family and turn in for the night.

Tomorrow is just another healthy day!