Diet Day 8 – 336 Pounds

Cardio – 60 Minutes
Weights – 60 Minutes
Cardio – 60 Minutes

Friday, good morning Miami!

It is really awesome to wake up each morning and have the desire to work out and plan a healthy day. For so many years, I never had that desire and now with  just one week of working towards a healthier lifestyle, I am feeling motivated and have the desire to continue on with great strength. I am no expert on living a healthy life just yet but I am learning and have much more to learn. I feel that I am making great progress.

On my way to breakfast, the front desk clerk advised me that the tickets I had ordered for this weekends NFL match up Miami Dolphins vs. New England Patriots have arrived. I am excited to attend the game but will need to plan my strategy accordingly as the ball park can be dangerous with regard to unhealthy food choices. I am thinking in advance, this is good but I ask myself a simple question, do people actually think about a strategy with regard to nutrition before heading to a ball game, why am I thinking about food and not the game? For me, it will certainly be a challenge for my first outing to this type of environment.

As I take my table this morning for breakfast, most of the guests are preparing to depart tomorrow and the staff are preparing for the new arrivals. In a way it is kind of sad that all the people who I have met are returning to their homes and regular lives while I am staying on. That brings me to start thinking about my family and how much I miss them.

Each day the Concierge places the days events, menus and other information on a table in the hallway. As I approach the table, I notice this lady sitting at the computer desk very upset. I have seen this lady a few times eating alone at meals and in the gym a few times but never really paid much attention to her. Very unlike me, I ask her if she is okay and she tells me that she is here for three months from Switzerland and is feeling a bit homesick and is having great difficulty in adapting to Pritikin’s.

She starts to show me other health facilities in Florida and has come up with a private residence at Canyon Ranch Miami. I am aware of Canyon Ranch, I attended the Tucson resort many years ago and ask her why she wanted to leave. I intervene and provide her my opinion, telling her that the Pritikin program is one of the best, she needs to stay with it and give it a chance. Once you get the first few days under your belt, it almost becomes natural. We discuss the options available to her and I end up agreeing with her that Canyon Ranch is on the beach, offers luxurious accommodations which include your own kitchen. I emphasize that if she is going to go that route it is likely that she will be living in her own environment and will be eating and cooking for herself and not be attending classes, lectures or interacting with the other participants as she would be doing at Pritikin.  In the end,  she tells me that she agrees with me and appreciated talking with me.

Morning cardio commences with pre exercise vitals of 82 BPM and blood pressure of 120/80, text-book I exclaim to all those standing around me. Once the class concluded, I took full advantage of heading outside to the pool for some water aerobics. 45 minutes of splashing around making big waves and keeping the group fully amused with my machine like work ethic. I think I am making a name for myself in the pool.

Lunch today has a few choices, Mexican Vegetables, Risotto or Pasta Pomodoro. I don’t feel like any of those choices so I go outside the box and take a large salad bowl and fill it with all the available fruits and then cut in a couple of bananas. I top this off with some lo-fat cottage cheese and head to the community table. I meet a few guys who are leaving tomorrow but have plans to return in a few weeks. I learn that some of these guys attend Pritikin as a weekly get away on a regular basis.

I find myself back in the gym after lunch, climbing back onto my ARC trainer for another round of cardio. I have downloaded a couple of TV shows from iTunes and figure that I will watch these shows as I stride away. I am watching The Walking Dead and it brings goose bumps to my skin, at one point I actually blurted out a scream during a vividly intense scene and then realized everyone around me was looking at me. I guess it was rather loud and caused some alarm as to what was going on.

Scott and I started recording our weight lifting program, the below was our planned  weight lifting program for this afternoon.

Front Dumbbell Raise – 4 sets of 15 at 15lbs
Lateral Dumbbell Raise – 4 sets of 15 at 15lbs
Low Pulley Bicep Curl – 4 sets of 15 at 35lbs
Dumbbell Crossface – 4 sets of 15 at 25lbs
EZ Bar Curl – 4 sets of 15 at 50lbs
Tricep Pulldown – 4 sets of 15 at 30lbs
Shrugs – 4 sets of 15 at 70lbs

I find myself all alone it’s Friday afternoon and things are rather quiet as people continue to prepare for  leaving.  I have decided to venture out to see Miami Beach. I am in search of open turquoise water and white sand beaches. I made a few wrong turns but found my way to the beach. I  park the car and take a stroll along the boardwalk, the ocean breeze is brisk, the sun is strong and the water looks amazing. I am seeing people jogging along the water line, this looks very appealing and I am wanting to give it a try.  With tomorrow being Saturday I start planning my first beach day. I am off to Sports Authority to purchase a folding chair and beach towel.

Trouble is brewing, I am on the freeway and am thinking about stopping at Wendy’s I know it is a bad choice but I stop and pull into the parking lot. My mind is racing, don’t do it, don’t order just keep driving, everything I have been teaching myself is racing through my head. I go ahead and pull up to the order window and place the order with guilt. I order a cheeseburger, baked potato and diet coke. As I am ordering, calculations of the calories, the sodium, the density are all running through my head. I pull ahead and park, thinking about what I am about to do, I am not going to do it. I will only have the drink and potato and see how I feel. I am sad to say, I did just that but in fact ate the cheeseburger and am so disappointed with  myself in every way.

Overall it was a poor decision on my part, tomorrow will be another healthy day!